Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Whole Athlete-Specialized to Tackle Sea Otter with Full Squad of Juniors and U23s

Eighteen riders from top developmental program to contest West Coast's largest MTB event

(April 11, 2011, San Anselmo, CA) The Whole Athlete-Specialized Cycling Team has its sights set on the 2011 Sea Otter Classic with an impressive contingent of young riders. Nine junior boys, five junior girls, and four U23 riders will contest their respective cross-country races.

Standout juniors Keegan Swenson (2010 15/16 National Champion) and Tony Smith (2010 Worlds Team member) will face a strong field as they look to maintain their momentum of consecutive 1-2 finishes in the first two ProXCT rounds at Bonelli Park and Fontana.

Sea Otter will mark the first foray into national-class racing for the junior girls this season, who have focused mainly on High School League racing so far this year. Sofia Hamilton (2010 Worlds Team member) is hoping for one step above her 2nd place finish in last year's 17/18 race, while current 15/16 National Champion Kate Courtney, also a podium finisher last year, hopes to take top honors in this year's event.

On the U23 side, neo-pro Zach Valdez is coming off a strong start to the spring, including two 2nd place finishes in the Kenda Cup Series and 10th in the Bonelli Park ProXCT short track. Valdez and his U23 teammates will face the country's top professional racers in this third stop of the ProXCT Series.

Whole Athlete-Specialized Sea Otter MTB XC Roster

Junior Boys 17/18: Max Houtzager, Sven Beer, Taylor Smith, Keegan Swenson, Eliel Anttila, Bobby Zidek, Tony Smith

Junior Boys 15/16: Jonny Kaufman, Lucas Newcomb

Junior Girls: (Abbie Durkee, coach) Josie Nordrum, Mackinzie Stanley, Sofia Hamilton, Kate Courtney, Victoria Yoham, (Julia Violich, coach)

U23 Men: Riley Predum, Will Patterson, Zach Valdez, Will Curtis

No comments:

Post a Comment